Minutes of meeting May 22, 2018 Spillway

At 6:31 PM President, Steve Wymore, called the meeting to order. There were 22 members and 9 guests in attendance. Woody Mahan offered the invocation and did a fine job as usual.

Item 1: Jerry Nelson was present and promoted their shrimp feed to be held on June 4th from 4:30 TO 8 PM at Schucks at 168th and Center in Omaha. Cost is \$20 per individual.

Item 2: Echo Pearlman, from Methodist School of Nursing, spoke to the group about her experiences with the Mobile Unit. She shared stories of her experiences with the unit and added that if anyone was interested in volunteering to help, how they would go about it.

Item 3: Steve Wymore gave his bio and thanked everyone for their support through out his three year reign as President of the club. He will now change hats and become Governor Elect of the Cornbelt Federation next year.

Item 4: Reminders for the group:

- a. Shrimp feed on June 4th.
- b. Human Service Advisory Council Wed- May 23, 8-10 AM
- c, Membership Coffee at Habitat for Humanity on Sat,, May 26, from 9-10 AM.
- d. Bayliss Park wellness Bash August 4, 10Am to 1 PM.

e. Pal's end of the year party at Council Bluffs Country Club. It will be held on August 18. Cash bar from 5 to 6 PM. Dinner from 6 to 8 pm. Cost is \$13 per individual.

f. JDRF Walk - Sat, Aug 25

g. Habitat for Humanity Fundraiser - Thursday - Sept 20 at the Grass Wagon Item 5: Reports:

a. Treasurer: We have \$7100 for Westfair. We also have \$17,900 in our DAD account.

b. DAD - Robert from Winterset got his dog. Ava is next on our list. That will bring us to four people who we have helped to get dogs this year.

c. Drip catchers...Ed Tucker displayed our newly purchased drip catchers for our Pancake feed.

Item 6: Other topics:

a. Walt won the ticket drawing...donated money to the for the good of the club. Ed Tucker won the "nut" drawing. It went into the envelope also. b. Larry Taylor gave a very moving request to the group for prayers for his granddaughter who is going through some hard times. Sabrina, God be with you. You are not alone!

Meeting adjourned...kinda...

Then came the Awards portion of the Meeting:

Serious Awards:

5 Year Pins:	Henry Mollett Doug Moore Kent Stopak Steve Wymore Dennis Kennedy Matt Schultz
50 Year pin/Plaque	Bob Hansen
Above and Beyond Award	Lou Fox Doug Moore Walt Coziahr Kent Stopak Bill Treadway Arlo Burk LeRoy Lovely Warren Goos
"Always There" Award	John Kilday Ed Anderson Ed Tucker (my apologiesI didn't get the certificates printed before the meeting. I'm in the process now)
Courage Award	Tracy McCurdy
Rookie of the Year:	Gary Thien
President of the Year by Cornbelt Federation: Steve Wymore	

Pal of the Year Marilyn Wymore

Cosmo Of the Year: Bill Treadway

Then....Then came some other awards:

We've given out the "Always There" awards....this one is called the **Always Somewhere else** award. When the conversation is going on for most of the club, this individual is usually somewhere else...Awardee...**Don Croson**

Invisible Man Award. These are members who we rarely see but are members just the same...**Dave Coziahr, Skip Doty, Bill Stazzoni. Dennis Kennedy** was under consideration for this award but he failed to meet some of the criterion because unlike the others on this list, he

is usually here but you just never hear him. We considered giving him the **John Wayne** Award for the **QUIET MAN**.

Family Business Awards. Each year at our WestFair Fundraiser, these families involve not only the member and Pal, but children and grandchildren, in-laws and outlaws as well. The **Coopers, The Millers, and The Tuckers** are the winners this year.

The **Anderson Window** Award. This gentleman has become such a permanent fixture at Window number 1 at WestFair that people have mistaken him for a window decoration. He calls Every "Westfair visitor" by name as they approach the concession stand. This year's winner is **Lou Fox**

Our **Florida Sunkist** Award winner this year is **Woody Mahan**. We thank him for sharing his new squeeze with the group. Peggy is a very welcome addition.

Our Next Award is the **Teflon** Award. It goes to **Glennay Jundt.** She takes friendly fire from all of us but nothing seems to stick.

The **EverReady Bunny** Award goes to a group of people who just seem to keep going and going and going...And we're glad they do...WE ARE ALL THE BETTER FOR IT. **Russ Rains, Don Croson, Bob Hansen, Ed Anderson, Walt Coziahr, John Kilday, Henry Mollett, and Jim Prouty**

Our next award is the **Wells Fargo** Award. It is called this because the gentleman who is this year's recipient must have a direct line to the bank to fund his "For the Good of the Club" account. Bragging about his grandchildren is going to cause a hardship on his family's finances if things don't change...we all should have that problem. This year's winner is **Lee Cooper.**

We saved our two most prestigious awards for last. This Award is for the **most beer drank** at Westfair. Last Year's winner, Doug Moore, of course isn't eligible because he has already proven his talent in this area. Also, it is worthy to note here that current committee members are not eligible for this award. If we were, it would be no contest. This year, again, the judges were challenged to find the most worthy recipient. Luckily, we had video evidence to look at and after consulting the video replay, this too became a no-brainer. The winner is **Kent Stopak**

The final award was not intended but evolved none the less... The length of this meeting surpassed the record that was held by the September meeting of 1992 which was 1 hr snd 18 minutes long. Tonight's record was 1 hour and 31 minutes not counting the clean-up that was necessary. Impeach the President! Wait...He's already leaving.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Ron Fox in the absence of Doug Moore who is obviously enjoying himself with a beer and pretzels somewhere.



